Passing along the Blessings……

28 Aug

In spite of all of the medical problems that I have had, I can still appreciate the Blessings that I have received….I really love to help and encourage others.  God has been very good to me! 

All of these pieces of equipment that I have been talking about are expensive.  If you qualify, and are on Disability or over 65, Medicare will pay for the wheelchairs, braces, crutches, walkers, and even canes, if you have a prescription form your Doctor.  If you are not on Medicare, then regular Health Insurance pays in some instances.  I have had NO experience in this department.  I have been on Social Security Medicare since I was 30. (more about that later)

Not everyone qualifies for these kinds of wheelchairs, even if there is a legitimate medical need for it. All of the forms have to be filled out “just so.”  There is always someone who falls through the cracks. 

Back in the mid-1990’s, when I was waiting for my first Recline/Tilt wheelchair to be made and delivered to me, I was in an AOL PPS Chat Room on the Internet and the subject came up.  Someone asked me what I was going to do with my “old” Invacare Power Chair-which was in “like new” condition?  I had not thought about it at all…….someone else in the Chat Room told me that a mutual “on-line friend” needed a Power Chair but her Supplier was having a hard time getting her approved through Medicare. (Always deal with an experienced Medicare Provider!)  She desperately needed it and while waiting, was confined to her bed or her small house. 

ANOTHER girl who was also in the Chat Room (there were about a dozen of us on-line at the time) got off line, made a telephone call,  and got back on with some wonderful news!  She had recently retired from Bekins Van Lines as the secretary to the President.  She made a phone call to ask for a favor.  Here’s what happened:

Bekins came to my home in SC,  took my “old” wheelchair, crated it up and delivered it to the home of the lady in need, who lived in Cleveland!  FOR FREE!    

It was perfect for her! (we were approximately the same size.) and it suited her needs exactly!  A man from her Church came and built  a ramp to her front door.  She was able to get out and go (on the sidewalk) to the grocery store alone for the first time in YEARS!   I think that God had a hand in working this all out…I don’t believe in coincidences! 

  When she died, her son called me and asked me if I wanted the chair back.  I told him absolutely NOT!  I asked him to pass it along through his Church or a place like the MS Society.  He did. 

I had a similar experience with my Invacare Recline/Tilt Wheelchair.  When I received my Permobil Recline/Tilt chair, I donated the Invacare to The Shriner’s Children’s Hospital (it used to be called The Crippled Children’s Hospital).  I got a beautiful letter from them thanking me for the gift of “The Cadillac of Wheelchairs”.  They told me that it would be going home with a teenager, and that they were going to work on getting him a van.  Now, I know from experience, that this is a life-changing gift.  Once again, I had been given the opportunity to Bless someone else the way that I have been Blessed ! 

I have donated used scooters, walkers, crutches and other equipment over the years.  There is always someone in need of exactly the piece of equipment that you no longer use. 

So, if you have unused equipment sitting in your garage or in a closet, consider donating it to an organization or an individual. You will be blessed by it!  

3 Responses to “Passing along the Blessings……”

  1. Kathie Morris January 25, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

    Linda you are a great blessing to others. May God continue to bless you for your kindness.
    Kem

  2. lindaonwheels September 1, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Thanks Chris. I see so many people who “fall through the cracks” and can’t get the aid that we have…..I also have enough equipment that I can loan out like canes and crutches and a manual wheelchair (to people who have a temporary need).

    It really feels great to help someone in need. My first scooter lift was given to me! AND I had a very nice donation towards my first handicap van from a Foundation established through my church. It isn’t money from the church directly, but the church handles requests and then asks those who want to donate for the $$. The person donating can deduct it that way. It got me started on a handicapped van and I have traded up to what I have today.

    That is why I titled this post “Passing along the Blessings”.

    I am going to write about handicapped vans and lifts soon. It’s a big subject, so I am going to do another easier post first. We do have to pace ourselves. 🙂

    Thanks so much for your comments! If you have an idea about a subject for a post for my Blog, please let me know.

  3. jazzyroller September 1, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    This is a great article. I can relate to everything you say about wheelchairs. I too have had a number of chairs over the years; several of which I too have donated to others. I am so glad that we no longer use the term “Crippled Children’s Hospital.” Half of my people are from Pacolet, SC just north of Greenville. My step daddy owned the RV dealership in Greenville. We miss Jim Bob (Allen) and many many others who are no longer with us. Also, I miss the South!

Leave a Reply

